Driving Without Car Insurance Penalties
People caught driving without car insurance are subject to license suspension and several other fines and penalties. The penalties range based on the number of offenses.
In Illinois, drivers must have liability insurance and carry proof of this insurance in their cars. Drivers who drive without insurance face serious penalties, including fees. States base insurance violations in two ways:
- Failure to provide proof of insurance
- Driving without insurance
These violations have different sets of penalties. Failure to provide insurance fines will not be as severe as fines for driving without insurance.
In Illinois, a first-time conviction for driving without car insurance results in:
- a three-month license suspension
- a mandatory $500 fine (minimum)
- court costs
- an additional $100 license reinstatement fee.
Drivers may also be required to file an SR22 for driving without insurance.
If you are pulled and do not have car insurance, your car can also be towed. You will need to pay the towing and impound fees which will cost a few hundred dollars.